Tags

I have been working with some children to make the arrival at school much safer. They are so good they have just earned us the GOLD award! Because the award is all about Sustainable Travel I could not resist making myself a new Ruby Dress (Sew Simple) covered in sustainable travel ie bikes!

IMG_1850.JPG

IMG_1885.JPG
I managed to find this quilting cotton in the sewing machine shop in town. It was lovely to sew, but I didn’t buy enough for a circle skirt as in the original Ruby dress so I followed the Howe Dress idea and made some pleats.
I used bias tape in the neck and sleeves. I also used a strip of interfacing on the neck to add some stability . I used 3 metres of brown bias tape on the hem and one of my new Singer sewing machine’s lovely new decorative stitches.
Pattern: the Ruby Dress Simple Sew
Fabric: 2 m of quilting cotton
Notions: 5m of bias binding for hem and neck and arm holes.
Wonkiness: 7/10. I tried to be clever and make the V back higher when I cut out my fabric, which made too much material in the back and so it is not as flat as The Ammie
Everyone I work with had such a great laugh at my complete craziness to make a dress for the Event….but if you can…why not????? And some were glad I had not gone for a gold sequinned lamé number!!

Amanda 💝